About the Conference

Welcome to the Pacific Western Rugby Conference. The Conference was set up in 2012 with the orginizational and competition changes to the collegiate USA Rugby structure. The Conference is a Division 1 AA conference and competes for the USA Rugby National Collegiate Competition in fifteen's and in seven's. The Conference covers the regions of Northern California and Northern Nevada. The teams that are included in the Conference are the following:

  • San Jose State
  • Chico State University
  • UC Santa Cruz
  • San Francisco State University
  • Stanford University
  • Fresno State University
  • University of Nevada, Reno

15's competition begins January 28th, 2017. The winner of the Conference automatically qualifies for the USA Rugby Div 1 AA National Championship that will be held in May.  The PWRC 7's tournament is a national qualifier tournament.  This means that the winner of the tournament is automatically entered into the USA Rugby National 7's Championship Tournament.  This tournament is held in May.  

In 2013, Stanford University joined the Conference.  2014 saw the departure of Sierra College and Santa Rosa College.  However, UC Davis and Sacramento State joined the league.  Sacramento State left in 2016 but has rejoined in 2017 while UC Davis has left after winning two national championships in three years.  

2018 brought a change into the fifteens competition.  The competition split in two for two main resons.  One, is to help programs with a second sife of players get matches,  Two, was for struggling clubs rebuild their programs.  So, there are two competions.  They are the Preimier League and the Cup League.  Only the Preimer League Teams will be able to qualify for USA Rugby 15's National Competition.  As for the cup league, it will include the induction of St. Marys C side.  It also drop San Francisco State and San Jose State from the Preimer League Competition.